Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What is the style of "tie" Brett used as Holmes?

Tiller

Practically Family
Before I begin let me say, hello Ladies and Gentlemen! It's an honor to meet everybody. I'm a 23 year old newbie to the whole vintage community.

I was wondering if anyone could enlighten me on what you would call the tie (if it can even be called that) Jeremy Brett always wore when he played Sherlock Holmes for Granada Television. Although before the "golden age" proper I wonder what's the story behind this simple Victorian tie. It seems to me to simply be a piece of silk tied around his neck. Or perhaps it is a type of bow tie, that I am simply ignorant? Here are some pictures for those of you who have not seen the series.

jeremy-brett-as-sherlock-holmes1.jpg

medium_holmes7.jpg

01.jpg

Tiller

Practically Family
Maybe that is all it is. I was wondering though if perhaps it was a part of Victorian fashion that simply didn't survive much past the turn of the century. Although it seems that the Holmes drawn by Sidney Paget also wore the tie, not matter what it is lol.

paget_holmes.png

avedwards

Call Me a Cab
Most Holmes' wear that tie. Peter Cushing does, Basil Rathbone does in parts of the two films done with Fox (which are set in Victorian times). And oddly enough Cushing also wears one in the role of the elderly Professor Van Helsing in "Dracula AD 1972" made and set in (gasp) 1972.

Looking in the mirror and comparing it to some of the pictures the idea of a bow tie with the edges tucked under the collar seems right, as it's more than just a piece of silk (it has some sort of bow tie resembling knot).

Tiller

Practically Family
avedwards said: