Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What is your Curl Set Routine for Fine/Thin Hair

Romamor4

Familiar Face
I'm new to the forum but have been lurking for a few days. I am starting this evening to try and master the pin curl set! My only curiosity is for your women with fine and thin hair. What is your specific routine? What do you find works best for your sets? I've read so many different routines on here and elsewhere, but wanted to see the routines of those with this type of hair. Thanks in advance, ladies!

wahine

Practically Family
Welcome to the forum, Romamor4! :)

I have fine thin hair and I'm pretty new to the whole thing myself, so maybe my experiences might be a bit helpful. I started with wet sets with different sorts of setting lotion (one at a time ;) ). Having difficulties with the curl rolling itself, it never came out well (I had problems getting a grip on the hair, keeping the ends in, remembering what direction I was rolling...).

But I hung on and the curls got better and better each time. In the beginning, it took me about half an hour to do the set, now I'm down to 10-15 minutes; now that I got the trick with rolling the hair around my finger. I never got satisfying results with any sort of setting lotion, though. Neither a very liquid kind, nor a creamy or foamy kind did the job - the results were okay at first sight, but I had problems doing the combing. It seemed the setting lotion "sat" on the hair, weighing it down, and when combing, the curl vanished into thin air.