Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Work and a family

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
I saw this article on MSN the other day and think it is true. I have many female friends right now who were told all through their lives that they could have a family and have a corporate career only to be shut out of having a family because they can't let go of the career.

http://women.msn.com/1250831.armx?GT1=6785

What do you think. Has has the modern working woman been left without a family?

Can you have both?

Was The golden era way better by divying up the responsabilities having one at home and one at work (hard to do with today's cost of living)?

ITG

Call Me a Cab
I can say that as being a teacher, I have noticed a difference in kids who mom's work versus those whose mom's stay at home. The ones who have mom's that stay home seem to do better in school, be more organized, get along better with other kids, and be more respectful. Please understand, this is not in the case with all kids who have stay at home moms but it seems to be the case in the majority of the situations I've seen.

For me, I know that when I have kids one day, I'd like to be able to stay at home to raise the them (traditional gender role). Raising kids and having a job are 2 full time jobs and I'm not a good multi-tasker. I know I don't want to ignore my kids or be too stressed out or tired from work to give any time to them. I also realize that it's possible I may have to work for income purposes depending on what the financial situation is and staying at home may not be an option one day, but if I had a choice I'd rather raise my kids than having a day care do it. Any one built a time travel machine yet?

elsewhere

Familiar Face
Excellent topic, Matt.

This was something we were very concerned about.