Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

WWII Crusher and Garrison Caps

PADDY

I'll Lock Up
Bartender
What headwear would you wear with your khaki's an A-2?

The beaten up 40 mission crusher hat? or the sharp lined Garrison (overseas) hat?

Also..your preference of jacket? short waised Ike, or traditional 4 pocket No.2 dress jacket for walking out...? decisions, decisions (what's a well dressed officer to wear!).

Just a bit of fun guys, but interesting to find out what individuals prefer...and why!

Bogie1943

Practically Family
PADDY, I can tell you I am a hardcore crusher type officer. I have a few garrison caps but I just love the look of a good crusher on my head, it is the image I get in my head when I think of an AAF pilot.

schwammy

Familiar Face
I was enlisted, rather than an officer. We were issued 'bus driver caps,' as we called 'em, and wore them once - for our basic training photo. After that, they never saw use again due to their bulk and the strictness of AFR 35-10, which required them to be worn in a very specific, boring manner. If we could have gotten away with removing the stiffening ring and cocking them sideways like they used to, it might have been different. But worn as proscribed, they had an incredible dork factor. Of course, this was in 1989, so they were a far cry from the cool ones of WWII. Black plastic had replaced the brown leather bill, and blue polyester had replaced the olive drab wool or khaki cotton. Everyone wore the other caps, for which we had another nickname which, out of delicacy, I shall not repeat.

STHill

One of the Regulars
Was it called a "p!sscutter"? I seem to recall my ex-Marine dad referring to them that way. Sorry, boss, if I'm out of line. Sometimes I'm not as well-mannered as I should be.

Wild Root

Gone Home
Crusher or O.S.