Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Your first hat

Mm25

One Too Many
I did a search and did not see anything that addressed this. I still have the first fedora I bought. It was the mid eighties and I was a freshman in college. It was a in small, rural, town with a central square that had a small men's shop, like most small towns did back then.
I bought a brown Bee hat, which they punched my initials into the band. To this day it's the only hat with my initials in it.

I would be interested in seeing your first hats, or if they are gone, the hat you have had the longest (not the oldest hat).

My Bee

This was my first fedora. The hat belonged to my grandfather. I wore it quite often in the late 1970s / early 1980s until my roommate's dog ate the bow off the ribbon and left a few teeth marks. It then became my float-trip hat.

The hat currently:

22481161477_8b52039844_z.jpg

The hat on my head back in 1983:

22620221950_46b9b23366_z.jpg

On a side note: I had a bad habit of taking a blue Bic pen and modifying the labels my Big Smith overalls to read a little differently.

25498992513_0db447a6da_n.jpg

Last edited:

Mm25

One Too Many
This was my first fedora. The hat belonged to my grandfather. I wore it quite often in the late 1970s / early 1980s until my roommate's dog ate the bow off the ribbon and left a few teeth marks. It then became my float-trip hat.

The hat currently:

22481161477_8b52039844_z.jpg

The hat on my head back in 1983:

22620221950_46b9b23366_z.jpg

On a side note: I had a bad habit of taking a blue Bic pen and modifying the labels my Big Smith overalls to read a little differently.

25498992513_0db447a6da_n.jpg
It still looks great. Nice connection to your grandfather.

Bob, what is the hat? A Stetson?