Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Cordovan Allens??

moustache

Practically Family
I have shown these off a few times and adore them.But i'm a bit new to the shoe game and was noticing that the Allen-Edmonds catalog lists the "Macneil" as available in regular calf and also cordovan.
By this photo,are these cordovan??I know where cordovan comes from and the process.But i have not seen it on shoes yet.
Seems a VERY sturdy leathe and hardy as can be.These don't need polishing and are in splendid condition.

Thoughts??

32fee.jpg

aelarge.jpg

herringbonekid

I'll Lock Up
i'd say definately not. i have a pair of cordovan shoes (below) and they have a smooth very dark burgundy-brown waxy finish with a deep sheen. they don't have the grained surface.

cordovan.jpg

cheers.

moustache

Practically Family
herringbonekid said:
i'd say definately not. i have a pair of cordovan shoes (below) and they have a smooth very dark burgundy-brown waxy finish with a deep sheen. they don't have the grained surface.

cordovan.jpg

cheers.

Thanks so much for the information.yet another factoid to store in the melon above!!!
The shoes might not be cordovan,but they sure feel nice and look splendid!

Regards,

JD

AlanC

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Not cordovan as stated, but the grained calf finish is interesting. I don't believe they are offered in that leather any longer. Those are clearly meant to compete with the old Florsheim Kenmoor longwing in 'cashmere calf' as they called it.

moustache

Practically Family
Hmmm

AlanC said:
Not cordovan as stated, but the grained calf finish is interesting. I don't believe they are offered in that leather any longer. Those are clearly meant to compete with the old Florsheim Kenmoor longwing in 'cashmere calf' as they called it.