Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Seeking some G-1 constuction thoughts

sixties.nut

I needed to start this topic in order to ask some opinions on jacket construction, and to reply to questions that were previously asked on anothers topic. I'm trying to be respectful and not get more lost at the same time, this a BIG LOUNGE!

Firstly a big welcome to Herk115 and narwhale too, from another newbie here! I suspect we'll find the right way to go in order to pick out a jacket which will suit our purposes. There is already a wealth of information here we just need to sift through it to find the right choice is all.

I think USAAFAcePilot's choice looks to me like the right way to go for him seeing that he's asking about crushed caps, tie, trousers, etc. It appears he's going for the whole kit-n-kaboodle look. Which is fine I understand that. I also see where the other mens opinions come into play with this as well. That jacket isn't what I'd exactly call reasonably priced when they start out priced at four to five hundred.

In my budget when we hit three hundred why we're already at DEFCON IV with sirens blaring, red lights flashing. The whole speel. That's just considering a stock jacket. By the time I am able to find the source that will accomodate my request to have the thinsulate lining put in. That's an addition hundred or so. Then to have almost a dozen or so patches sewn on before the lining is sewn, that's another hundred or so. You can see where this is heading?