Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The End of the Line - The W-Class tram trundles off into history...

Shangas

I'll Lock Up
http://www.theage.com.au/national/wclass-trundling-into-history-20090817-enp4.html

An icon for over 80 years, the W-class tram was introduced to Melbourne's streets after WWI, in 1923 and had remained on the tracks well into the 2000s. It appears they will soon be no-more, despite the efforts of historical groups to restore and maintain these old clankers for public transportation. These moving, clanging, rattling, rumbling links to the Jazz Age, back when Flinders Street Station still had a ballroom which hosted big-band dances and parties, will soon be phased out.

dr greg

One Too Many
NO!

I worked as a clippie on the Melbourne trams in the 70's, and I used to love working the old ones...just more class, and it was so good to see what was probably the oldest functioning tramway rolling stock left in a Western country...save them I say, do you want the joint to look like Zurich?

Los Angeles had some fine trolley systems such as the Red Car and the system could take you to a zillion places some of them pretty far flung. They were located in places you wanted to go and came from places you already were so that concept of taking you where you wanted to go wasn't foreign. The system lost ridership and was phased out. 40 years after, the idea of trolley type cars gets the go ahead in LA but few of the lines take you to where you want to go from where you are at, so the ridership is not quite up where it should be. Plus it's ridiculously expensive to build.

Best advice might be don't lose them if posible because they are really tough to replace.

Ephraim Tutt

One Too Many