Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

1930's/40's Christmas - help with script

IndianaWay

New in Town
Hi - I'm a newbie and would appreciate some help. I'm writing a script for our church's Christmas program put on by the youth. General idea, we're looking at one family, starting in the present day and what the kids see as the "Best Christmas ever." Then we go to the early-mid 1970's with the same "Best Christmas ever" concept. Next we go to the late 30's or early 40's (haven't made a firm decision yet) with the same concept.

It's set in the rural midwest - basically people who aren't wealthy but not in poverty either. I picture somebody who during the 30's or 40's might have been a small family farmer... enough to get by, but not a lot extra.

I'm looking for help with what the 1930's/40's kitchen might have looked like - i.e. what appliances, possible brands, etc. Any "pop culture" references would be appreciated also - slang/jargon, etc. Also, help with clothes for our actors - I'm guessing adults would have been in suits/ties and dresses (as appropriate!) but I'm not sure what kids might have been wearing on a famly Christmas. We don't want to spend much money, but I would like for the kids to look reasonably "period" for this scene. Also - what would a rural Indiana late 1930's Christmas have included? Food, music, etc...

Thanks for any help you can give - I want it to be a learning opportunity for the kids, and I've already learned more history (i.e. rural electrification) than I knew before!

Paisley

I'll Lock Up
You'll find about 95% of what you're looking for by doing a Google search of this site. There are threads and hundreds of photos on everything you've mentioned. Happy searching and good luck with your play!