Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

How To Size a 2nd Hand Leather Jacket Online

grandiose

New in Town
Humor me I'm a newbie , some of these questions may be dumb.

I am interested in getting my first leather jacket and decided to go second hand. I've seen a lot of great pieces on the classifieds here, but I have no idea what I need to do to get a good fit.

Do I just take measurements from a jacket I already own, or are there special considerations for sizing leather jacket versus a fabric jacket?

What's the value of the sizing (ex. 38, 40, or 42)? I had thought it was chest sizes, but it seems like there is a lot of variation.

Many of the jackets we buy are custom made, and sizes are all over the place. Someone once said “ignore the tag- go by the measurements.” It is very good advice. Going second hand is a lot of fun, and takes some of the cost-risk out of the equation. What style do you have in mind?

grandiose

New in Town
Many of the jackets we buy are custom made, and sizes are all over the place. Someone once said “ignore the tag- go by the measurements.” It is very good advice. Going second hand is a lot of fun, and takes some of the cost-risk out of the equation. What style do you have in mind?

I 've gone back and forth on what to get, but at the moment I am leaning towards getting an A2. It's a classic, not so showy that I'd feel weird wearing it, and I figure I'd probably keep it even if I end up getting a different jacket later down the line.

I 've gone back and forth on what to get, but at the moment I am leaning towards getting an A2. It's a classic, not so showy that I'd feel weird wearing it, and I figure I'd probably keep it even if I end up getting a different jacket later down the line.