Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Leather jacket newbie questions re. Vanson jacket

chemprofjspencer

New in Town
Hello all! Please allow me to introduce myself. I'm a leather jacket newbie, and I just received my first "vintage" jacket. I normally spend months researching and trying to understand a new subject before I dive in and purchase something, but I took a chance on what I thought was a good deal for a Vanson leather jacket. It was listed as a 60s vintage, but I don't have any way of verifying that. Here are some pics:

I was hoping that the fine folks here at TFL would be able to provide their insight into this jacket. Any resources or help with narrowing down age and leather, model name/number, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Also, pointing me in the direction of preferred resources regarding cleaning/condition and what you think may be needed for the jacket would be kindly appreciated. There are some loose threads on the jacket and in the lining—my inclination is to cut them a bit short then burn the ends with a lighter, but I am open to best suggestions for addressing these as well.

Finally, I paid ~$180 for the jacket; good deal or no? If I decide its not for me, what would be a fair market value to ask for the jacket in classifieds?

Finally-finally, any comments on the fit?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Vanson was founded in the 1970’s, 1974 to be exact so it’s not from the 60’s. The white label in your jacket is Vansons first, so it is most def an early model, though I can’t say which number/letter as it’s discontinued... Fit looks great! Perfect!

58panheadfan

One Too Many