Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Marilyn Monroe/1950s hair help - what do I tell my stylist?

fortworthgal

Call Me a Cab
Thanks, ladies! I'm very happy with it.

Here's today - no wash this morning, just touch-up with the curling iron.

1z2mv4o.jpg

katiesparkles

One of the Regulars
I mentioned it in another thread before already, but I love how it came out!

I'm planning to get my hair chopped on Saturday, I found this website called patch and they list a few salons in the area.. some including the founding date. I have three leads so far! Two full service salons, both look rather "old lady" (good!), one of them even has hair dryer hoods that look like they could be originally 50s or 60s. Of course, the image is so small that I could be wrong.. plus I'm not an expert.

The third one is a men's only barber shop which was founded in 1972, there's a picture of the owner (and I think only employee).

Doesn't he look like he could totally refer me to someone?? :D

d6444151ac6d8ee0344018b178ebc83c

3114f48f05f38cf1fc288c8fe9e7c07f

bb66e38f8fbceb0fd0bbef6fa1004a38

8776767ae5123e75b17d7018432db28

If the two other salons turn out to be a flop, I'll just beg him for a hair cut... hahaha.

Last edited:

fortworthgal

Call Me a Cab
^ Yay!!! Make sure you take pictures, I can't wait to see how it turns out.

When I was looking for someone, I called around and asked the salons if they typically worked on older clientele and did a lot of wet sets. I also asked if they knew how to do fingerwaves. Those things seemed to be the key, rather than asking for a specific type of cut. Once I found a salon I felt comfortable with, I asked for someone that typically works on older clientele and knew how to do those things. Avoid anything that advertises Brazilian blowout. :lol: