Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Newbie looking for some advice

BrewCrew

New in Town
I'm new to the Lounge and hats in general and could use some advice. I want to get a custom like one of Art's, something I can wear with semi-formal clothing. I seem to keep buying hats that aren't quite right. This is me in my acorn fawn Akubra stylemaster, 2/5 inch brim and short crown:
http://s291.photobucket.com/albums/ll285/ctbrew/?action=view&current=IMG_0005.jpg
ctbrew

I took a shot of me with and without glasses because I'll be getting new ones soon.
This was my second hat, having learned from my charcoal Banjo Peterson that I don't look good in a really dark hat or a flat brim, it was too "outback" so to speak, and I can see I need a higher crown on the hat. I never wear a suit, but often dress in slacks, vests, and button down shirts. What I'm looking for is suggestions on hat color (I'm leaning towards a mid-brown color), brim width (2 1/2? 2 5/8?), and a style that will fit my face. I like the style of this one very much:
http://www.vintagesilhouettes.com/limited_edition/HST.htm
All advice would be greatly appreciated! Finding this site was like finding water in the desert. :D -BrewCrew

AlanC

My Mail is Forwarded Here
For casual attire like you're describing, I think something like the HST--the Stratoliner/Open Road style--would be just the thing. If you're planning on ordering from Art he will be able to give you a lot of good suggestions, including sending you felt swatches of what he has available. You might consider his 'natural' color, which is highly versatile.

Welcome to the Lounge.

indycop

I'll Lock Up