Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Novice questions: Christys/Fed IV/Garrison

Shirley Films

New in Town
I wonder if anyone could give me some advice. I am a novice when it comes to hats, and I have a few questions.

I own a Christy's Adventurer (with an Indy bash). I actually really like the hat. But it has been through hell (lots of outdoor use) and I wish to get a new hat (or two).

One of my issues is that I have a very small head/face.

Some time ago, I read somewhere (here, I think) that Christy's could customize their hats. This appealed to me because I had hoped to order another one taking a few centimeters off of the top (my "Indy" seems slightly too tall).

However, they do not seem to offer the Adventurer online anymore... and there is no retailer in my country. The folks at Christy's informed me that I could go through a retailer in Wales, but... being in the USA... I think that might be a significant added expense in terms of shipping.

I have been looking at Akubra Federation IV (hatsdirect.com)... which seems like the best alternative to the Christies. I have also been looking at Garrison Hatters' fedora. Does anyone know how these hats compare to the Christy's Adventurer? Can any custom measurements be requested on these hats?

I am hoping to get 1 black and 1 brown... but it looks like the Garrison only comes in brown. Anyone have anything (good or bad) to say about the Fed IV in black? Or the Garrison?

Also, about sizes in general. My Christy's is a size 7 1/8 US. I don't know if my head has shrunken since I got it, but it seems tight on me now. Does this tend to happen with leather bands? Should I add an 1/8 (or more) the next time I buy a hat? .... Also curious if hat sizes are consistent between brands...?