Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Show us your new (old school) sun specs!

Matt Deckard

Man of Action
A thread for repro or classic looking specs that are new.

As an optician at Hotel De VIlle Eyewear, I got to study faces in a whole new way. I’d learned the intrinsic differences that made a cat eye frame work on one woman and not another. The bold attitude it took to carry off a thick frame that could look obnoxious on one man, ridiculous on another, and still well suited to another. In that time I studied myself of course, and on an excursion of study to Oliver Peoples on Sunset I discovered something that gave my heart glee… a pair of 1930s styled P3 shaped amber sunglasses with minty green lenses that suited me to a tee. I had to have them.
I receive at least a few questions a week about where I got them, so I’ll break it all down here and now. The glasses are a reissue of the O’Malley, a popular style that Oliver Peoples made back in the late 1980s when the company was new and on the covers of the most well known fashion magazines around the world. I tend to think the reissue of these glasses, and the others in the vintage lineup have given Oliver Peoples a new energy, a good fresh energy as they return to their roots. Anywho, I spent a nice amount of money on them and used my skills to make them fit me perfectly so that I don’t notice when they are on… comfy!
With the specs came a classic clam shaped case with a beautiful crushed velvet liner… the case is something that slides neatly into a jacket pocket.