Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The hat of Lt. Col. Dewey E. Albright, pilot in the 387th Bombardment Group.

fluteplayer07

One Too Many
This was my very first vintage hat, when I was a newbie here back in December. It's a Borsalino Savona from a store in Ohio, in mint condition. I never attached an age to it, because I didn't know much when I first got it. But recently, I figured it was worth a shot to flip down the sweatband to find the paper tag with the numbers, that's used to determine age. I ended up finding a whole lot more than I bargained for. I found a name. And it wasn't just any name; it was a name with the title Lieutenant Colonel in front of it. Lt. Col. Dewey E. Albright of the United States Air Force, to be exact. I rushed to search the history of Lt. Col. Albright, and I was surprised to find record of him in multiple sources. He received the Distinguished Flying Cross for "extraordinary achievement against the enemy" while he served in 387th Bombardment Group during WW2. He was born, and died in Ohio. This was also posted in the Hat forum's 'Ohio Thread', but I figure I can also ask our resident WW2 history buff population what they know of the 387th Bombardment Group, and of Mister Albright (from a more historical than hat-centric perspective). Have at it guys!

Thanks,

SIGGY

A-List Customer
Brief 387th BG history

They were known as "The Tiger Tails" and "The Tigerstripe Maruaders" they flew the B-26 Marauder medium bomber and were assigned to both the 8th and 9th AAF's during thier combat ops, thier Squadrons were,556th,557th,558th and the 559th.
I'm sure if you googled the unit you will find a history site/s about them, try 387thBG.org etc

fluteplayer07

One Too Many