Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

1920s and early 30s repro?

Avalon

A-List Customer
So here's the thing. While I'm sure I could find a few 20s-inspired pieces in mainstream stores due to the latest trend (thank you Miss 1929 for pointing that out! ;) ), do you ladies know of any vintage-repro stores online that include this era? I'm having a devil of a time finding anything earlier than 1940s. (Of course, I'm still fairly new at this, so I might've missed something.) I've found a few authentic vintage sites, but it's so far out of my price range as to be mean. lol

Thanks! :D

texasgirl

One Too Many

olive bleu

One Too Many
Frankly,I am mostly sewing my own these days. Actual vintage 20's and 30's clothes that are in wearable condition are mainly too expensive for my pocketbook, and so are good repros. Especially something that can really be considered "day wear" is nearly impossible to find anyway.

Miss 1929

My Mail is Forwarded Here
texasgirl said:
If you're thinking more along the lines of a flapper idea, leluxe on eBay has some gorgeous beaded gowns.
They look swell on too. I tried a few on at the Queen Mary Art Deco Weekend this year. With the right slip, they would really pass for the real thing to any eyes but ours!

retrogirl1941

One Too Many
Has anyone ever seen repro plaid stockings? I won a pair on ebay years ago but never paid for them(I am really regretting this now!). Even a pair of tights would work b/c then I can cut them and hem to top.

Samantha

Miss 1929

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Too bad about the fabrics and zippers

texasgirl said:
I do 30s reenacting and we have 20s themed parties occasionally, so I am always on the lookout too- and it's hard-especially 30s.

Here are a couple you can have made. I have been thinking that I might do one when I get down to my goal weight