Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

1930's slip dresses? Evening wear or nightwear?

Miss Neecerie

I'll Lock Up
Please do not link ebay auctions that have not yet ended, even for illustrative purposes, it is against the FL rules.

Now ladies, here is the dress she wanted to show you. I grabbed a picture and hosted it on my photobucket account.

d709_1.jpg

Snookie

Practically Family
I believe that slip dresses were popularized in the 90's, yes? Supermodels wearing slinky slips out as sexy eveningwear?

That's not a "slip dress". I think it's a real dress, it could be a nightgown, but I'm not good at telling the difference for those 30's negligees. I'd wear 'um all as dresses!

The slip dresses I remember were more like this.
http://www.blaec.com/mm-masayuki-marukawa-bias-slip-dress.shtml

That seller is using the term just because the dress is silky.

LolitaHaze

Call Me a Cab
I can't tell, but is that dress on the hanger backwards? It almost looks like it has a sweetheart neckline in back?

I think that is a dress. I do have two 30s/40s nightgowns myself. One I only wear as a nightgown as it has little poof sleeves, but the otherone I have worn as an actual dress. It is VERY body hugging and will show every little curve so I wear it out sparingly. But that one has one inch straps and looks like a modern interpretaion of a 30's gown, although it is a 30's nightgown. <-- Make sense?

Lauren

Distinguished Service Award
That one's an evening gown. And a very pretty one! From the early 30's, I'd wager (32-34)

Sellers list Slip and Dress in the title a lot of times to get more hits. There weren't slip dresses in the 30's, though I've seen in numerous books on vintage clothing that they advocate wearing 30's slips as dresses (and yup, they starting saying it in the 90's).