Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Big & Tall Head? Low Slung Ears? I Have No Idea What I’m Doing.

Barz51

New in Town
Hello All,
I’m just getting into vintage fedoras and am a little lost. I do have a new Stormy Kromer that I’ve gotten several positive comments on and I really like. I also have a pith helmet that I ware once a year at a car show I help put on, I don’t get as many positive comments on that one. :D Anyhow, I really would like get a nice fedora and I think the vintage route is the most affordable for a good quality hat.

Here is my problem. I like to wear my hats low, just above my eyes and ears. Well that is how I wear a ball cap or my Kromer. As you can see from the pictures I’ve got a tall forehead region. I think a C or diamond bash would be the best for getting a little extra height inside the hat but that is about as far as I can get. I don’t care for the stingy brim look and with my big head and wide shoulders it would look a little silly anyhow. I’m really looking for suggestions. I like a wider brim but not too wide (how’s that for clarity). I also like a taller hat but I’m not too sure how that would look on a round face like mine. I like the Dobbs in the picture below. But the Borsalino, which should be a nicer hat, just does not look right to me, I'm not sure why. I almost bought the Dobbs but the meeting I was in lasted too long and we did not get out in time for me to bid on it. I’m pretty sure I’m a 7 ½ and somewhere between regular oval and long oval. I’m about 5’ 11” and 240 lbs if that helps. Any suggestions from makers to models, from crown height to brim width will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Profile for your consideration
Triumph007-1.jpg

My wife April and I before chaperoning prom.
Prom010.jpg

Vintage Dobbs, too stingy?
fbb8_3.jpg