Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Cameras

cneil

Familiar Face
Cameras.

My Latest, A 1957 Ricoh 500 Rangefinder.
2.8F 4.5c.m. Riken Lens.
Original Leather Case and Lens Cap.
Film Format, 35mm.
index.cfm

Burma Shave

One of the Regulars
Just got a new one, myself.

About two months ago I picked up a Contax IIa with a 50mm lens on Ebay. The thing had been lovingly restored and is genuinely jewel-like both outwardly and in performance. I'm a journalist by trade but also a photographer. This is my current favorite camera. My former favorite was a Zeiss Ikon Simplex (6x9 cm negative) that was my great-grandfather's. Unfortunately, it just wore slap out. It was on its last legs when I liberated it from my father's house 12 years ago, and finally gave up the ghost. I may get it repaired, but it's impossible to find somebody who works on those things. It was made in the late 20s.

Vladimir Berkov

One Too Many
I have a (theoretically) working Argus model A 35mm camera from the late 1930s with a bakelite case, but of course have no clue how to use it exactly. I tried loading the film in it a couple months ago and the procedure ended in complete failure.

J. M. Stovall

Call Me a Cab
I recently picked up a 1940 Burke & James Press Camera with flash and accessories in the original leather case. I had always had this desire to reproduce a 1940's press photographer look for the big airshow here in Houston, to go along with all the WWII reenactors. This year I'll be able to pull it off!

MrBern

I'll Lock Up
Burma Shave said: