Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Considering this hat

Carillon

New in Town
Hi All,

I am still new to this great forum, so I am not sure if this is the proper place to post this. I am considering buying this hat. It is in my size and price range. It is made from 100% wool. Is this a hat worth buying?

Thanks
c0ec_1.jpg

edit: hmm, I can't get the image to appear. Strange

I wouldn't buy it, Carillon. Wool just plain doesn't make a good hat felt, at least not for hats that will take the weather and remain presentable for a good long while. Yeah, wool hats are considerably less costly than fur ones, but this is one of those cases where you really do get what you pay for.

Fletch

I'll Lock Up
Hi Carillon. Do you play the bells?

Wool felts aren't good dress hats. They feel stiff and scratchy and they don't hold their shape or repel water well. Some wools (such as Lite Felt) are serviceable as sporty or outdoor hats, but in the style shown they're generally just meant for costume wear.

Carillon

New in Town
Oh, ok, thanks, I didn't know that.

And no, I don't play bells, I do happen to like hearing them though, and being near Rockefeller Chapel on the south side of Chicago I hear them a lot. :)

Topper

Vendor
Carillon,

To answer you question - What do you want it for?

As to wool - it is entirely probably more hats have been made in wool in History than any other felt. So don't discount it straight away. You mention in budget which suggests you have set criteria.

As Tony mentioned "you really do get what you pay for." which is true. So profide that hat you are looking at is resonable price then one can say nothing good or bad against it.