Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Considering This Hat

MattJH

One Too Many
Aside from the obvious Burlington Coat Factory specials, that's actually a really nice price for a fur felt. The only exposure I've had to Jaxon hats is a bowler and a "Rocky"-style hat that I ordered from the Village Hat Shop last year before I found The Fedora Lounge. They were both wool felt and, while ordered as a 7 5/8, had to have been closer to a 7 3/8 - 7 1/2 and I had to return them. I see Jaxons sold on the same shelves as Golden Gate, New York Hat Co., and even Bailey sometimes.

TaxMan1

One of the Regulars
Got that EXACT hat from them a week ago! I'm new to the "hobby", so I'm not gonna be much help. I don't have anything to compare it to, unfortunately. It looks REAL nice, a deep, chocolate brown. Quite stiff. The wife grabbed it from me the second I walked in the door to steam the brim down, as it was turned up a tad.

AdmiralTofu

One of the Regulars
Personally, I have nothing but praise for Jaxon Hats and would recommend them without a second thought. I currently own two Jaxon fedoras -- both wool, but even for wool hats, they're very good quality. I recently received a Jaxon Bogart that I had to send back because it was too big (I'm just exchanging it for the next smaller size). Fur felt, for $68. I'm no expert, but the felt seemed really good quality, and the hat of good construction. I can't wait to get my replacement.

(Incidentally, I haven't had any of the sizing issues Dumbjaw mentioned -- my Bogart was too big because I had measured myself incorrectly. lol The two wool felts I mentioned were sized S/M/L/XL instead of explicitly sized, *plus* they had an adjustable sweatband, so I never knew I was going around thinking I was a 7 5/8 when I'm really a 7 1/2).