Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Gents! What to buy another gent!

thebadmamajama

Practically Family
Hey, fellas!

So, I was thinking about what to get my fella for his birthday and I want to get it this summer while I'm still in civilization and still working. I was thinking about getting him some quality hankies with his initials on them. Is that at all appealing? What would you guys want, as quality vintage men you are? I'm a grad student so not too too expensive, but he's worth spending something on.

Any suggestions? Help is thoroughly appreciated from this dame. :D

thebadmamajama

Practically Family
I like the personalized cufflinks idea...

He's into the golden age like us, particularly the 1920s and art deco style. He's a music junkie, swing dancer, engineer, loves books used to be a rower back in the day. Does that help at all? Oh, he loves food and cooking and gadgets (of course). I'm sure I'll add more...

Thank you again for any suggestions. I've only grown up around women for the most part and don't really know what guys "like." :D

Maj.Nick Danger

I'll Lock Up
Hmm,...books are a good choice. Cook books on a certain type of cooking he's interested in learning more about maybe? Or music,...or a favorite movie on DVD. The possibilities are endless, really, if you think about what a person likes when choosing a gift for them. :)

A fine writing instrument such as a fountain pen, ball point or rollerball is nice.

Dinner out.
A shared experience like visiting a great museum.
A train trip.
Wet shaving equipment.

Sharing a special bottle of wine.

Going to see live music or a broadway type play.

A balloon ride.

thebadmamajama

Practically Family
Love of film, most definitely! These look AWESOME. That might have to be a MUST. I want 'em too....:)