Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hat size musings...

boushi_mania

One of the Regulars
I apologize if there's already another thread like this, but the word "size" appears too frequently in this forum for the search feature to be of much use.

Anyhow, the other day, I was pondering the U.S. hat sizing system, and wondering why it was the way it was. The numbers themselves don't seem to be connected to the width or length of the interior, nor do they represent the circumference; thus, they seem quite unintuitive compared to the European "circumference in centimeters" system. I'm not familiar with the history of how hat sizes came to be, so I'm basically completely in the dark. Long story short, I started playing with numbers, and eventually, I stumbled on to an interesting finding:

If you multiply the US hat size by pi, you get almost exactly (at least, close enough for me) the circumference of the sweatband in inches.

Take my size, 7 ¼. Multiply that by pi, and you get:
7.25 * π = 22.777

It's rounded off to the nearest thousandth, but you get the idea: it's a hair over 22 ¾". Now, let's convert that to centimeters:

22.777 * 2.54 = 57.854

That's right... just under a millimeter and a half away from the metric size.