Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hello, I'm new in town!

GOK

One Too Many
Greetings ladies!

I was just looking in at the hat forum (my partner is looking for his first Fedora, so being the lovely person I am, did some 'research' on his behalf!) and I discovered that men freeze frames on DVDs to look at hat labels, turn over china in restaurants to ascertain manufacturers and keep a plethora of images of apparel on their PCs for research purposes. My goodness, I thought I was the only person that did that! It's so heartening to find others do too. :D

I actually posted a couple of comments in the gentlemen's fora - was that the right thing to do? I don't want to get off to a bad start by committing a cardinal faux pas!

Anway, I should tell you all a bit about me I suppose; I'm a professional corsetiere and I also make repro vintage clothing. I've been making vintage wear for 31 years, ever since as a 12 year old, I decided I wanted to be glamorous like the movie stars. I have been fortunate enough to combine my passions in my working life, so have worked as a wardrobe mistress in theatre, plus provided historically accurate costumes to historical re-enactment societies (no, not SCA). I've also made gowns for weddings and a couple of movies. The latter have been featured in Marie Clare, Vogue and the BBC.

As a (late) teenager I was a professional photographic model and my biggest claim to fame is that Chuck Berry has a 20ft high poster of me! I have never even seen said poster! LOL!

What else? I have three grown up children who have all moved away from home now (yay for freedom!) and my partner and I live in a converted Victorian shoe factory - the oldest in our town apparently. The town we live in was once THE centre for shoemaking in the world....until cheap labour became the norm. [huh]