Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

How does one locate a phonograph repair person?

Kimberly

Practically Family
I hope I am posting in the right section, I am still a newbie and don't know what subject belongs where.

I know it sounds like a strange question but I am hitting a brick wall. I bought a vintage Webcor Phonograph and everything works but it needs a new needle. I am clueless when it comes to electronics so I looked in the Yellow Pages and there is nothing there. Do you think I can do an eBay search for the proper needle and put it in myself or should it be done by someone who has an idea of what they are doing.

Dixon Cannon

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Hi Kimberly,

http://www.kudzu.com/search.do

Try Kudzu.com. You put in your search and your area and it will tell about people (and services) in your area that can do the job. I found a guy to hook up all my cable t.v./components to the new t.v. He did a great job and was knowledgeable and professional.

You may just find who you're lookin' for!

-dixon cannon

p.s. or this site: http://www.needledoctor.com/Online-Store/Webcor

Fletch

I'll Lock Up
Webcor used to be Webster Chicago Corp., of that city. They're probably best known for their wire recorders of the 1940s-50s and I believe they were the market leader in that transitional technology. They also made early tape recorders and a line of portable record players called the Webcor Holiday Fonograf (sic).

There were several models of Fonograf, one of which I used to own. It had 33, 45, and 78 speeds and I believe took an Astatic stylus. Later models added 16 rpm (for talking book use in schools). There were also hi-fi and stereo Fonografs with separate speakers.