Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Introduction and a question

Rebecca D

One of the Regulars
Hi there,
I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢ve been checking out this site for a while but haven?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢t had the time to post anything. Finally I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢ve found a few spare moments so I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢d like to introduce myself. My name?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢s Rebecca, I live in San Francisco and love vintage patterns and bright, pretty vintage fabric. I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢m still pretty much a novice when it comes to sewing ?¢‚Ǩ‚Äú I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢m completely self-taught ?¢‚Ǩ‚Äú but I am getting better and hope to be really good at it some day.

So that leads me to my question: my poor old Viking Husqvarna (which I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢ve always hated) is finally on its last leg, so I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢m in the market for a cheaper but good quality machine. In the past I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢ve had good look with Brother, so I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢m thinking about one of their LCD computerized models with an automatic button hole function, or venturing into the great unknown world of overlock machines.

For some reason sergers (are sergers and overlock machines the same thing?) scare me, and I think they may be quite limiting in what they do ?¢‚Ǩ‚Äú especially since they don?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢t have button hole and backstitch features, no? Plus, for those of you with overlock machines, do you think you could fake an overlock stitch with a good zigzag stitch on a sewing machine?

I?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢m a sucker for shiny new toys and am the type of person that would buy an overlock machine just because it looks neat, but then throw it out the window in a fit of rage when I couldn?¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢t figure out how to thread it. So, could someone please help me out?

Cheers,
Rebecca

Lauren

Distinguished Service Award
Hi Rebecca and welcome!