Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Jane Monheit--New CD (sort of)

LuckyLighter

Familiar Face
I'm kind of new to Jane Monheit's music. I worked with a guy at Border Books and Music who was a huge fan way before she really made it big, and he tried to get me to listen to her, but I never got a chance.

Then I heard her rendition of "Over the Rainbow" on the Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow soundtrack, and I was intrigued.

So I bought her newest CD "Taking a Chance on Love." Not only is she easy on the eyes, she has a gorgeous voice as well. She does a rendition of "In the Still of the Night" that gave me goosebumps listening to it. As soon as her vocals came on, my heart skipped a beat, it was that lush and beautiful and intoxicating.

Given that she is a jazz vocalist, I'm sure there are plenty of people on here who are fans, and I'd like to hear their impressions of not only this CD, but also Jane in general.

As far as I'm concerned, this is the best album I have bought this year; probably in several years.

Rafter

Suspended
LuckyLighter said:
I'm kind of new to Jane Monheit's music. I bought her newest CD "Taking a Chance on Love." Not only is she easy on the eyes, she has a gorgeous voice as well.
I'm sure there are plenty of people on here who are fans, and I'd like to hear their impressions of not only this CD, but also Jane in general.
Jane Monheit is a sophisticated bombshell of a performer with a voice that is, like her appearance, voluptuous and flawlessly pretty.

The CD you bought "Taking A Chance On Love" is not Monheit's newest! It was released in 2004. Her latest is called "Surrender" and was just released this May.

Jane.jpg