Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Name that Hat!

Al

One of the Regulars
I recently saw a hat that had a ridge down the middle of the crown from front to back. Not a crease or a dent, but a small ridge about the size of a pencil, maybe smaller. Anyway, can't remember what it's called. The style, type. Any guesses, thanks for jarring my memory. Must be getting old.

Thanks

Ordinary Guy

One Too Many
I have seen some Panama hats that have a ridge down the middle of the crown and I believe the name on that one was a Patron.

But if the ridge comes across the crown and down the front I believe it is called Optimo...

Keep in mind I am new to all this and learning, but I am sure you will get some more answers here quick.....

Edited to say , I see I took too long typing my answer and Gene got it for ya....

Lefty

I'll Lock Up
Gene has it. The feature you're describing is an optimo ridge. When the crown of a hat only has that ridge, the hat is described as an optimo. Sometimes, hats will have some sort of crease, like a C crown, with an optimo ridge running through it.

optimo
art200906.jpg

optimo ridge as a feature in another crease
art200908.jpg

carter

I'll Lock Up
I had a conversation with JP about this recently. The ridge is easily obtained when reblocking a straw. He simply affixes a string to the part of the block where he wants the ridge before putting the hat on the block.

Ordinary Guy

One Too Many
Lefty said:
optimo ridge as a feature in another crease
art200908.jpg

That is the style I saw with the name Patron.... So it is an Optimo also...

Guess the company I saw just gave it another name...

So much to learn, but every day is a another bit of knowledge. Thanks.

Lefty

I'll Lock Up