Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

NEED HELP!!

I apologize if this is not the correct place for this but I really didn't know where to put it. Here's the situation...

My girlfriend's grandmother passed away a few years ago. When we went to get some of her old belongings, my GF wanted this cedar chest. The only problem is, there are a few planks missing on the bottom and it has a lot of scratches and a few chips. She took it more so for sentimentality, but as it stands right now, it has no functionality. We've toyed with the idea of having it restored. My GF's mother's husband is a woodworker by trade and offered to fix it up. My question is, does anyone know the value of this chest? Do you think it's a good idea for him to restore it, or should it be done by an antique furniture restoration place? Finally, any idea what it would cost?

The chest is apparently from the Roos company, and has a date stamp on the paper inside of 1948. Here are some photos that show both the condition and overall chest. I would also appreciate any history on these kinds of chests if anyone knows it :)

chest1zm0.jpg

chest2uh1.jpg

chest3vt2.jpg

chest4bw2.jpg

chest5ai8.jpg

chest6gs8.jpg

chest7ht4.jpg

chest8un6.jpg

chest9xu9.jpg

Miss Brill

One Too Many
That is very pretty, I love cedar chests & usually see them for $200-$300 at antique stores. I'm big on leaving things alone & living with the imperfections. To some collectors you devalue things if you repair them, but if it is to be used, I'd say fix it up.

Miss Brill

One Too Many
Here is a site that has a chest exactly like that one, except it has a base & feet. It says it is worth $200-$250.