Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Need some help identifying this cafe racer

Gamma68

One Too Many
Hi everyone.

I'm excited! I just purchased a vintage (?) cafe racer I found at a vintage clothing store. I'd really like to learn more about it (there are no tags) and wanted to ask the experts here:

1. Who is the manufacturer?
2. Any idea what kind of leather it is? Feels like my 1960s goatskin G-1, but I'm no leather expert.
3. What approximate time period does it date from?

Here are some quick photos (sorry for the poor lighting) with some notes:

CR_1.JPG

CR_2.JPG

^ Dark brown in color. The bottom panel on the back seems to ride pretty high (but it's not uncomfortable).

CR_3.JPG

^ The main zip and sleeve zips are by Swift (not familiar with this brand). The chest pocket zips are not branded. Nor is the collar snap button.

CR_4.JPG

CR_5.JPG

^ There are three underarm ventilation holes

CR_6.JPG

^ The front side of the wind flap is finished...

CR_7.JPG

^...while the underside is unfinished

CR_8.JPG

^ The interior has no pockets and is entirely lined in a rayon-like material. The only tag on this jacket is this generic R. Sherman cleaning label.

The salesperson guessed that maybe the lining had been replaced at some point (hence no manufacturer tag). But the presence of the Sherman cleaning label refutes that.

What do you guys think?

Gamma68

One Too Many
Yes, looks like your Kehoe. Thanks!

I'd never heard of this brand but a quick web search shows they were made in Warren or St. Clair Shores Michigan. Wish the label were still in it if I ever decide to sell it. But that would be later, because it fits great.

Any idea what type of leather it would be? Others Kekoes I've seen online are labeled steerhide. Mine seems on the thin side for steer--it's wonderfully supple.

Last edited: