Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Please Advise

Guinness

New in Town
Hats

Hi Everyone,

I just purchased this 8 year old Stetson 4X Beaver felt hat and am thinking about sending it to Optimo for a complete makeover into a fedora. I need your help, because I am very new to hat wearing, to decide about the style to make it into. For reference, I just got an Akubra Stylemaster and really do like it, and if I do say so myself, it doesn't look half bad on me. The color of the Stetson is black, so I'm thinking about a contrasting hat band and edge trim, maybe a plum or burgundy color. What do you think about that? Would also like to have the lining to be in the same color, if possible. Also, how would you recommend the crown be treated? Taking my photo into consideration, what advice would you give this newbie about this project? Thanks everyone for your help.

PS
Please be gentle about the mug shot. HA HA

trailrunner

Familiar Face
Guinness said:
Hats

Hi Everyone,

I just purchased this 8 year old Stetson 4X Beaver felt hat and am thinking about sending it to Optimo for a complete makeover into a fedora. I need your help, because I am very new to hat wearing, to decide about the style to make it into. For reference, I just got an Akubra Stylemaster and really do like it, and if I do say so myself, it doesn't look half bad on me. The color of the Stetson is black, so I'm thinking about a contrasting hat band and edge trim, maybe a plum or burgundy color. What do you think about that? Would also like to have the lining to be in the same color, if possible. Also, how would you recommend the crown be treated? Taking my photo into consideration, what advice would you give this newbie about this project? Thanks everyone for your help.

PS
Please be gentle about the mug shot. HA HA