Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Road to Perdition?1930's era films

moustache

Practically Family
Being a newbie here,i have not had time to peruse all of the back posts.
So i will just ask anew.
I have always adored the film "Road to Perdition".It has to be one of the best movies i have ever seen in relation to costume from the 1930's.In almost every detail. Even the soundtrack is glorious!! I spent a few afternoons learning the piano pieces i liked it that much!

What do you consider your favourite 1930's era film made in the lat 1990's??

JD Ross
Vancouver,Wa

Daisy Buchanan

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Well, I have a few, but they were made in 2000 or later.
I really liked "Road To Predition" too. It is an all around great movie, and I think Tom Hanks is wonderful in it.
Two movies that I really enjoy are "The Aviator" and "The Notebook"
I liked both of these movies mostly due to their costumes. They both emulate the era so well. I've always loved the blue dress that Rachel McAdams wears in "The Notebook", and just saw that Stop Staring is making a copy similar to it. The acting in this movie isn't the greatest, but it is a beautiful film to watch.
As for "The Aviator", I could watch this film over and over again. Actually, I have! It's beautiful to watch, and all of the cast are great to look at. Leo, Kate and Cate do a fantastic job re-creating the feel of the golden era. It does drag on a bit for the last 45 minutes, there are definitely scenes that could have been left out. But, these scenes really do show Howard Hughes for the man he turned into.
Other movies that emulate the early 20th century very well are "Radio Days", "Lost in Yonkers", Wings of The Dove Gosh, I have a list of others, but they are not coming to mind at the moment. I'm sure they will be mentioned by others.