Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Shark skin?

priestyboy

One of the Regulars
I've been browsing the suits on ebay and will admit I'm new to this. I'm looking late 40s-early 60s group and have seen suits called 'Sharkskin". I take it this is some kind of shimmering fabric?

Additionally, the look of the 50s-early 60s G-man with the dark suit (black?) white shirt and skinny tie with Shuron horn-rimmed glasses, would this be the sharkskin suit?

I love the classic and clean look of the 50s-early 60s. It is the look so many of our parents have in their highschool graduation pictures! ANy words of wisdom, a website or the such on obtaining that look? Yeah, like Rat Pack!

cookie

I'll Lock Up
priestyboy said:
I've been browsing the suits on ebay and will admit I'm new to this. I'm looking late 40s-early 60s group and have seen suits called 'Sharkskin". I take it this is some kind of shimmering fabric?

Additionally, the look of the 50s-early 60s G-man with the dark suit (black?) white shirt and skinny tie with Shuron horn-rimmed glasses, would this be the sharkskin suit?

I love the classic and clean look of the 50s-early 60s. It is the look so many of our parents have in their highschool graduation pictures! ANy words of wisdom, a website or the such on obtaining that look? Yeah, like Rat Pack!

All of the above - go to eBay.com - - vintage clothing -1950-60s - suits - and you will will get somewhere.

Sharkskin

A sharkskin fabric is basically just a dressy worsted fabric. It's a very clear finished fabric with two tones of twill weave that gives a little subtle motion to the fabric surface, and it looks kind of like a shark's skin. Think of it as a fabric with an odd colored warp in the weave. Just a little more surface interest than your standard worsted or gab.

Marc Chevalier

Gone Home