Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Sources for Suits

Briscoeteque

One of the Regulars
I'm a rather poor college student with a fondess for suits from 1920-1964. What's a good place to look? So far it's been eBay, and while I've snagged 2 1964 suits and one 1940's suit for reasonable prices, four, all of them fantastic and rare styles (and fit) went absolutely crazy today, three breaking $100 rapid fire. I look at the local goodwill, but most of the stuff they have is 70's and 80's, when people almost looked better dressing casually, the suits were so bad. Anything good, it's just the jacket. I went to a talior, and getting a pinstriped double-breasted suit made ran about 900 dollars. Is there some secret untapped resource out there for old suits? eBay's just too much for me, I watched this one suit religiously for a week, started picking out ties and hats to go with it, and it goes up a hundred dollars in 5 minutes.

I need a second job in addition to my schoolwork to pay for my cloth habit.

Another poor college student here ...

And a Scot - we're known for being tightwads ...

It all depends on your size. If you are unfortunate enough to fall into the size range 38R-42L you will be pretty much restricted to above $100 for a suit on eBay. If you're bigger than that, expect to pay more. Smaller? You might get lucky. The real trick to eBay is finding things that have been badly listed (look for measurements that seem absurd to you, or for a suit that you *know* is 30s-40s but has been listed as 60s-70s). The threads on the lounge will help you out with what to look for.