Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Steampunk, Dieselpunk, etc.

imoldfashioned

Call Me a Cab
There was a discussion of this in the Powder Room. I had never heard the term before this. I've been visiting lots of sites on Steampunk since--I'm really intrigued by the style (I especially want a pair of brass goggles!).

Viola

Call Me a Cab
I like the look, its sort of a playful Victorian/mad scientist thing, 1880s-futuristic. I have to still put together a wardrobe for it, though.

J. M. Stovall

Call Me a Cab
I worked in the Anime industry for a while, and there are quite a few Steampunk series and Manga tie-ins.

I'm more a fan of Dieselpunk myself. Same basic idea but instead of modern style technology existing during the Victorian Era it's in the 20's and 30's.

Mike K.

One Too Many
I never heard of the term until I read this thread. Now that I know what steampunk is, I can think of several movies where it's prevalent.
A quick Google search yielded this really cool gadget. It's a steampunk computer keyboard...and I really want one!!

Kb41.jpg
Kb45.jpg

J. M. Stovall

Call Me a Cab
Diamondback said:
That too, although the DeLorean could've almost qualified IMO as a "modern version" thereof...

But maybe it's just 'cause I'm so biased about the DeLorean and the "doctored" version in particular... (but "Mr. Fusion" was just ugly)

I think LD is referring to the very last scene were Doc Brown comes back in the train, now that's Steampunk.

carter

I'll Lock Up
Originally posted by Mike K.
A quick Google search yielded this really cool gadget. It's a steampunk computer keyboard...and I really want one!!

Mike, That's VERRRY COOOL. Please post the link! :)

gluegungeisha

Practically Family