Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Tropical Kit

stevechasmar

New in Town
I am a writer based in Southeast Asia for some 25 years now (originally from San Diego) and have an interest in acquiring and wearing vintage clothes made for tropical climates. My interests run from colonial wear -- what was being worn by the colonials in British, French and Dutch Southeast Asian colonies, as well as the American Philippine Islands -- to clothing designed and made for men living in the American Deep South, with its steaming tropical summers.

I am wondering if you all can help me make a suggested list of pieces of clothing and accouterments that would have kept the tropics-bound gentleman cool, comfortable and of course, stylish. Any ideas or comments are appreciated.

All best,
Steven

cookie

I'll Lock Up
stevechasmar said:
I am a writer based in Southeast Asia for some 25 years now (originally from San Diego) and have an interest in acquiring and wearing vintage clothes made for tropical climates. My interests run from colonial wear -- what was being worn by the colonials in British, French and Dutch Southeast Asian colonies, as well as the American Philippine Islands -- to clothing designed and made for men living in the American Deep South, with its steaming tropical summers.

I am wondering if you all can help me make a suggested list of pieces of clothing and accouterments that would have kept the tropics-bound gentleman cool, comfortable and of course, stylish. Any ideas or comments are appreciated.

All best,
Steven

see the Adventurers Gear Thread on this section for the COMPLETE selection

stevechasmar

New in Town
Odd that such a thread need be posted under "Adventurers Gear" when life in the tropics consists less of adventure seeking and more of lounging about trying to keep cool...

scotrace