Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What am I doing wrong?

ScarletAirelle

New in Town
I have been doing pincurls for a couple of months now and somedays they come out great and other days I don't even want to go out in public, I have recently noticed that if I sleep with my pincurls and brush them out in the morning my curls are somewhat fine, but later in the day when i go brush it again (my hair is very fine and tangles easily) the ends of my curls go straight. So I am stuck with curly hair on the top and straight ends. sometimes I willl go over the straight ends and try to re-curl them with my fingers but I don't always get all the straight pieces and it ends up looking wierd. Does anyone else have that happen to them? What am I doing wrong? :(

KittyT

I'll Lock Up
Also, how are you doing your pincurls? Are you winding them from the ends up? Or are you winding them around your finger starting at the scalp, and then tucking the ends under?

ohairas

Call Me a Cab
Sounds like they are not truly dry when you take them out.. look fine for a while and then zap, they're gone. Esp. if your ends are tucked in nicely, they will be the last to dry.

If that isn't the case I highly suggest a few layers and/or a touch of razoring the ends. Even tho your hair is fine, sometimes the weight of fine hair pulls those curls right out.
Nikki

BakingInPearls

One of the Regulars
My hair tends to go flat on the ends when it is need of some trimming. I never get the same results with pin curls so I turned to magnetic rollers and my luck has faired much better, since it is easy for me to get the ends perfect when I use rollers in my hair.

ScarletAirelle

New in Town
Miss Neecerie: Thanks for making me feel better, I just see all the pictures that the ladies post and it seems like they are pros.