Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What to look for?

Rodney

Familiar Face
I'm new to the world of suits. I've never had to wear one for work. In my career path they were never necessary and I've led a pretty informal life. I am ready for a change, I want to dress better at least some of the time. My budget doesn't allow bespoke or even good new OTR and I won't bother with a cheaply made poor quality suit. What would be the point?
I'm thinking more along the lines of thrift store shopping and vintage. That's not a problem. I like thrift stores and prefer vintage styles anyway plus inexpensive doesn't have to be poor quality, especially when buying used. The trouble is even if I know what I like but I don't necessarily know what I'm looking at. What do you look for in a suit? How do you tell trash from treasure? Quality from not so good?
Thanks for any advice you can give me.
Rodney

fashion frank

One Too Many
To be Or Not to Bespoken.

I'm new to the world of suits. I've never had to wear one for work. In my career path they were never necessary and I've led a pretty informal life. I am ready for a change, I want to dress better at least some of the time. My budget doesn't allow bespoke or even good new OTR and I won't bother with a cheaply made poor quality suit. What would be the point?
I'm thinking more along the lines of thrift store shopping and vintage. That's not a problem. I like thrift stores and prefer vintage styles anyway plus inexpensive doesn't have to be poor quality, especially when buying used. The trouble is even if I know what I like but I don't necessarily know what I'm looking at. What do you look for in a suit? How do you tell trash from treasure? Quality from not so good?
Thanks for any advice you can give me.
Rodney