Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Where to start?

bacchantin

New in Town
I am completely new to all of this.
First of all: I don't know how to handle make-up at all. At most I can apply some concealer (but will look like I have huge white circles under my eyes). When I use mascara it will end up all over my eyes not on my lashes and don't even get me started on lipstick and rouge. I never even touched them.
My hair is just pin straight and rebellious. When I curl it with flexi rollers over night, my hair will be back to straight by lunch.
Overall I am a complete failure in the beauty department.

I was always fascinated by the looks and the fashion of the 30s, 40s and 50s.

In 4 weeks I am planning to go to Nina's Hair Parlour in London to get a really pretty and nice hair cut and maybe some instructions on how to style it properly.

What styles would you suggest and do you have any tips and ideas to somehow get my 20-year-old self to a prettier place?

Thank you all so much. And this forum is such a great inspiration and help... thank you...

Tatum

Practically Family
Hi bacchantin and welcome.

I'm sure one of the bartenders would reference this thread, as it covers most of what you are asking...

But as far as makeup goes, try this link. Return2Style has a very simple outline of shape and color palette.

Also, do a YouTube search for vintage makeup in your chosen decade.

:)
Tatum

Katinka von K.

A-List Customer
You might also try youtube. Fleur de Guerre taught me how to apply lipstick the 40s way and made it super easy for me :). You will also find lots of hair help over there. It is a great source.

Puzzicato

One Too Many
I am completely new to all of this.