Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Why is my crown so soft?

KevKaos59

Familiar Face
Soft but to soft?

I am still a noob, and trying to learn all the ins and out of vintage hats. I now have 1 new Bailey, and 5 vintage (early 60's) hats. I think all my "old" hats are from around the same time, but there is a vast difference between them and I can't figure out if it's because they were lesser quality from the start, poor maintenance over the years, or what. I have a Stetson Royal De Lux (wearing today) and a Dobbs that have a nice stiff feel to the brims (they snap up or down nicely) and the crowns pretty much bounce right back to their intended shape. I also have an Anthony with a pinch crown and a Bond with the same. I love the way these hats look in regards to shape, but they both have no rebound to them and the brims don't feel as thick. Actually, the felt overall doesn't feel as thick. One of them is even stamped "Beaver XXX" inside the sweatband. Both where extremely dirty when I got them, but they have cleaned up nicely and I basically consider them my brown and grey beaters but would love it if they just had a firmer feel to them. I guess what I am asking, is this something that can be corrected with blocking? Do hat blockers use anything to help hats hold their shape? I am really clueless in the ways of hat blocking and maintenance.

carldelo

One Too Many
In general, a hat that is able to take a bash and hold it (as opposed to stiffly bouncing back) is considered superior. Good quality felt can be manipulated at will to give the hat the shape you want. As N-B posted, stiffener can be used to hold felt in a given shape, but most would not subject a vintage hat with good bash-ability to a stiffening treatment.

KevKaos59

Familiar Face