Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Young Author

Panamabob

Call Me a Cab
Many of you know that I am a humble elementary school teacher. Well, today we had a wonderful experience. The children's author, Patricia Polocco, came to our school and gave three riveting speaches intertwined with wonderful stories.

If any of your kids are LD, Special Education, Nerds, Geeks, overweight, or otherwise bullied you'd might want to look at some of her books. www.patriciapolocco.com

Some interesting facts:

Among her geek friends that overcame the bullying he received because of his unusual voice is none other than Frank Oz.

She babysat for a desparately poor family that lived in a rusty old boat on an estuary near Oakland...one Tom Hanks was her charge.

She talked about the three of them returning to their high school to face the "bullies." Guess what? Everyone wanted to be their friend. Irony or something less?

A little elementary? That is my life...elementary.

Biltmore Bob

Suspended
My son kicked a bullie's arse last year in school. The kid was so traumatized his mother had to put him in another school, The kid had been picking and tormenting my boy for a year. My son did all that is expected ie. walking away, running away, telling a teacher, blah blah blah. Nothing was ever done.
He had enough one day and could take no more. Of course he got introuble for defending himself, with the school not me. 2nd grade...

Biltmore Bob said:
He had enough one day and could take no more. Of course he got introuble for defending himself, with the school not me. 2nd grade...

Great. They punish the person who was getting picked and probably gave the other guy a medal of tolerance. :rolleyes: :rage:
Your kid did the right thing. That is the only way to face down bullies. His house of cards fell down.

Regards to all,

J