Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A Question of Texture?

tsores

Familiar Face
Hello: I am new to this hat forum and to better hats. I am writing because I have searched the forum, and other sources, finding nothing on this topic.

I am tired of baseball caps so I decided to buy something a little different. I am partial to the Stetson Gun Club line to give you an idea of where I am starting. My issue is about felt texture. The hats I have tried on are rather stiff as if they were made from sheet metal. I had the pleasure of watching a couple of my favorite old western movies recently and noticed the hats. Any movie fans here? In My Darling Clementine, Henry Fonda frequently adjusts his hat and it is noticeably flexible, both the brim and the crown. In the original Stagecoach, the John Wayne character hat is a soft felt which bends in the breeze during several scenes including the scene where the Indians are chasing the stagecoach. So, my questions are:

1. What the pros and cons of having soft or stiff felt?

2. Is there much difference for the wearer?

3. Where does one find soft felt hats - Brand or models?

If there is a thread on this topic please forgive the oversight and direct me to it.

Thanks for any help provided.

scottyrocks

I'll Lock Up
Hello and welcome to the world of hat wearers.

Your questions have certainly been covered at TFL, but they are all over the place so it would be tough to find answers to everything you asked unless you've got the time (and inclination) to read most of the Hat section.

Two threads that come to mind, though, are Ask A Question, Get An Answer, and New Member To The Hat Forum. Of course, you will get a bunch of responses right here in short order, as well.

jlee562

I'll Lock Up