Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Chicago and Eliot Ness

Eliot

New in Town
Hallo!

I just wanted to say hallo to everybody! I am a newbie in this Lounge, but I've found many topics which are very, very interesting!

Please ignore my bad english ... :p

I've written several articles of Eliot Ness and his Untouchables (I love this topic...), many people in Germany think "The Untouchables" was only a TV series with Robert Stack :rage:

But, now I want to share my special liking to "The Golden Age".

I am trying to complete my Eliot-Ness-suit with accessories. Can you help me??? It's very difficult to copy the REAL look ;-)

Have a nice day! And thank you for your replies...
Best wishes, Eliot

Vanessa

One Too Many
Hello there!

(On a slight tangeant - I caught AMC's DVD TV the other week & it was showing "The Untouchables" and if you're not familiar with the set up - they show movies in widecreen format & then scroll bits of info related to anything in the movie below. Some of the things I found out: 1)The movie does not really follow history (like I wrongfully assumed) 2)Ness was not married at the time of chasing Capone 3)The man in the white suit (Nitti?) was not killed by Ness, but rather committed suicide some years later.)

Eliot

New in Town
Hi!

No, the movie follows not history... It is based on Eliot Ness' book "The Untouchables". But there were made many changes... You're right, at that time Ness wasn't married (he lived alone with his parents in the southside of Chicago), the guy in the white suit (Frank Nitti) wasn't killed by Ness and the Prohibition agents Jim Malone (S. Connery), George Stone (A. Garcia) and Oscar Wallace (C. M. Smith) are also fictive...

Mycroft

One Too Many