Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Do you really want them "Waterproof"?

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
Hey guys, do you really want to use a waterproofing type of application on leather jackets? Seems to me it would be akin to wearing vinyl, but I'm not an expert in this field so please let me know if something like mink oil should be used on a jacket. I had previously heard that you should not, but instead use Pecards or Lexol which doesn't waterproof but conditions and preserves.

Any advice would be appreciated as I'm looking at a jacket that a biker put up for sale and he said he used mink oil on it to waterproof it. It is horsehide.

much thanks fedoralover

Bebop

Practically Family
I agree that it seems to be like wearing vinyl to completely waterproof a leather jacket. I have used mink oil on boots to make them softer but it also leaves a tacky residue that I don't really like. I use mink oil sparingly because it seems to break down the leather and soften it too much for my taste. I would not use it on a jacket. I have used Lexol and the standard run of the mill "leather conditioner" from Wilson's Leather and conditioning seems to be better for me than waterproofing.

Rinterstate

New in Town
Waterproofing

Correct me if i'm wrong but horsehide is a naturally waterproofed leather. I know my horsehide A2 is waterproofed with nothing on it. I suppose you could use a conditioner on it. But it shouldn't need any type of waterproofing.

Randy

rick5150

One of the Regulars
Horsehide is always touted as being waterproof. There is a technique for aging horsehide jackets where you wet the leather with hot water. This tells me there is a flaw in the "waterproof" theory. Maybe highly water resistent, but not waterproof. The conditioner would not be able to penetrate either.