Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Dying and “waxing” a suede jacket

music321

New in Town
Does anyone have experience dying suede jackets?

I’m trying to dye an oatmeal-colored suede jacket cordovan. Additionally, I want the jacket to have a waxed look, only not as “waxy”.

I’m thinking of using Angelus, Terrago, or Fiebing’s dye. I’d use 3 or 4 coats.

Then, I’m thinking I’ll spray the jacket down with Retayne, or another dye fixer (any suggestions?)

Next, I’ll have it dry cleaned to remove unfixed dye.

Finally, I’d like to use Pecards leather dressing to mat down the nap.

I can imagine the pecards potentially dissolving some of the dye. I don’t know if this is a legitimate concern or not.

How does this plan sound?

Thanks.

I'm no expert on suede or hides...but sounds kind of disastrous to me. Kinda the wrong side of the hide to hand dye..and make uniformally waxy considering the natural suede nap...and even use Pecards on...isn't it?
HD

Panacheman

Familiar Face
With my admitted somewhat limited and in general disastrous efforts at home dying I'd say this sounds like a plan to turn an oatmeal jacket into a blotchy reddish mess. The pecards sound like an interesting way to get a waxy worn look to a suede jacket. If you really can't live with the jacket the way it is and dont mind possibly ruining it my advice is to learn from my mistake and skip the hand dying and try hitting that bad boy with some sort of leather treatment that preferably is in a solid state rather then liquid for ease of application and be prepared to use a lot of product and elbow grease to get an even appearance. To me a waxy look oatmeal jacket sounds pretty stylish then again as is it may have some charm of it's own what sort of cut is it.