Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Going to try my hand at making some hatter tools.

great white

Familiar Face
While waiting for a couple hats to arrive in the mail, I'm already thinking/researching altering them.

I've pretty much decided to cut the brim down a bit on an Akubra Sunny river to make it more general wear than cowboy. So I need a way to cut it down if I decide on that.

A search revealed everything from scissors and chalk, strap cutters, boston brim cutters to ornate rounding jacks. I came across a gents who makes rather nice rounding jacks: http://lumberjocks.com/projects/7118

62827-438x.jpg

Darned near furniture bordering on art! I love it. But I don't love the prices....:(

But upon examining it closer, it's not a complex device. I'm a fairly accomplished woodworker (amongst other skills) and I've got a nice big stash of oak out in the shop waiting for a winter project of some sort. A little bit of brass and I've got everything I need to build one. So that's what I will do!

I'll try to update as I go along. I'm shooting for functional with an eye towards making it look nice although probably not a finely finished as the picture above. Smooth, tastefully stained, varnished and finished. well, maybe a little extra time on the "art" part...;)

I also am afflicted with a larger head size (7 5/8). Finding "vintage" hats in my size is a bit more difficult. Not impossible, but difficult and it seems to be expensive when I do. I'm not a perfect 7 5/8, I'm somewhere between sizes slightly (like most I'll wager) so it would also be nice to custom fit a bit. It would be nice if I could buy hats in the more common 1 size smaller (or two) and rework them to fit.