Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

H’oly Grail Westerns and Fedoras

kenbid

New in Town
I am really asking for answers to questions. My hats are 75% western but I do enjoy fedoras too. I am ametican living abroad.

It is my understanding that the hats from the 1930’s 1940’s and perhaps the 1950’s on the higher end hats can be superb. Some say surpassing even the most costly Stetson, resistol, etc, is this really true? Anyone know?

What I know now, and I am no expert at all Just a hobbyist with hats.
I have several modern 100x westerns Bailey, Stetson, resistol. Some seem softer than others but generally about the same thing. I prefer the 100x for longevity and ability to take the weather. Leaving the fur felt and shape/style out of it they are about the same quality. Which is quite acceptable. They look good too. This is important to me. I find Larry Mayan to come in a little bit higher quality than Stetson and resistol. Serratelli 100x bargain for the money, excellent hats, not as soft as the Stetsons and Bailey but darn good and runs about $600 brand new. Worth it.

So I tried going to 200x Stetson. Difference is extremely difficult to detect. I have not yet tried a 500x but am looking for one.

What got me thinking. I got a Churchill “50”not a 50x. This hat is different than the modern high end 100x hats. It is soft not just with fur but entire hat itself. Bashes super easily. Ok so I see a difference.not sure on age of churchill thinking 50’s or 60’s. Super condition. So now I want to get a one hundred quality hat in nice shape, you know no moth bites,no cat box odor,etc. I guess my Churchill 50 is a almost holy grail hat, LOL.

Question - Would I see a big difference going to a Churchill one hundred or Stetson one hundred, not talking x’s here, from my Churchill fifty?