Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

MAC Make-up in particular

TillyMilly

One of the Regulars
Hi

I'm thinking of downsizing my kit and I was hoping that I could get some suggestions from the lovely ladies here, as to which MAC shadows are particularly vintage-appropriate (good for recreating the look) and deserve a place in my palette.

I'd also be grateful to hear which MAC blushes you are loving.

(I pick MAC as I love the pro pan system and i have a wide range of them already)

Thanks

Tishka

Last edited:

angeljenny

A-List Customer
Downsizing? Wow - I have lots of make up!

I love MAC but I am pretty new to attempting vintage make up so it was more of a "oooh that is a pretty colour" rather than picking vintage colours.

Hopefully I will learn which to order next!

C-dot

Call Me a Cab
Ooh, I love MAC!

I have a lot of colours from MAC that lend themselves well to a vintage look, but mine are mostly from limited time collections, like the Barbie or Christmas lines. White is a popular vintage choice - try Gesso. If you're into gold shadows, try for Goldmine, and if you like blues, consider Idol Eyes. (Those two colours go particularly well with green or blue eyes, but will look very nice with brown or hazel eyes aswell.) Beige shadow and red lipstick is stunning together - Nylon is a nice one and has a golden colour to it, and Brulé is straight beige.

The Wonder Woman quads are still being sold online and while I wasn't blown away by the colour selection, the Valiant quad has some lovely whites and greens. Also, don't forget about their pigments. I snagged a stunning turquoise one from a sailor collection called Mutiny, which I believe is discontinued now, but the Teal is somewhat similar.