Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Reblocking a Wool Felt Outback Hat

Swamp_Fox

New in Town
I'm new here and I'm looking forward to being a part of this great community!

I have a few questions about reblocking a hat.

I have a Stetson outback hat which was marketed by Cabelas as "la Mesa" (mine is marked "Stallion" for some reason). It's made of a stiff wool felt.

I've been wearing it for a couple of years now, and it's beginning to look a little ragged. I was wondering if it is possible to have it reblocked. I know that it's common to have fur felt hats reblocked, but I haven't heard of it being done with a less resilient wool felt hat.

Is it possible to have a wool felt hat effectively reblocked?

If so, how much should I expect to pay?

Finally, do you think my money would be better spent by investing in a nicer quality fur felt hat (Akubra perhaps) rather than putting money into the wool Stetson?

Thanks in advance for your responses!

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
Unless you find a hobbiest willing to do you a favor and just wants some practice reblocking, it will cost you more than the hat is worth. Remember, most of the time you have to send it out, which means shipping costs as well. Invest a little more money in a fur felt hat, you be happier in the long run.

fedoralover .

leo

One of the Regulars
Your "Indiana/Kentucky" location may be close to Cincinnati. In that case, you could stop into one of the best hat shops in the country, Batsakes at 6th & Vine in downtown Cincy (described in other FL threads). It's been a few years since I had a hat reblocked there, but I don't recall it being very expensive.

But I do agree with Indycop that an inexpensive wool hat may not be worth it or even doable.

Bill

welcome to the lounge